top of page
Search

Kennedy Ekezie-Joseph


"The distance between where I am now and where I know I want to be...that gap is where the motivation lay for me" - Kennedy Ekezie-Joseph


Kennedy founded the Calabar Youth Council for Women's Rights, which raises awareness about and advocates for the victims of gender-based violence, rape, and genital mutilation. Kennedy is currently also pursuing a masters degree in China and someday hopes to become president of Nigeria. He has been recognized by President Obama's Young African Leaders Initiative, the U.N. Youth Assembly, and spoken at TEDx.


We talk about a wide range of subjects including Kennedy's vision of the future for Nigeria and his organization. He also offers some advice on how to talk about issues of systemic oppression, which is something that I am always trying to get better at since it is so applicable here in the US.


Enjoy!


bottom of page